Cart Contents


Credit card processing via PayPal, no account needed

That's The Way It Is 8 CD + 2 DVD Box Set.

1970s » Elvis CDs 1970's »

Elvis : As Recorded At Madison Square Garden CD


$24.70 USD

  Login to create Wishlists

Elvis As Recorded At Madision Square Garden, was recorded during the evening show on Saturday, June 10. In June 1972. Elvis Presley returned to New York City for his first performances there since his final appearance on Ed Sullivan's 'Talk of the Town' more than 15 years earlier. His shows at Madison Square Garden were, in fact, his first full concerts in New York: during previous visits to the Big Apple, Presley had only performed a few numbers in television studios. Accordingly, Presley's four shows at Madison Square Garden were huge media events. As part of the pre-concert hype, RCA announced that it would release a live album of the concerts one week after the final show.

The show is typical of Elvis Presley's touring show during the Seventies, a mix of early Elvis hits and more contemporary songs popularized by others. Elvis Presley tosses off many of his hits, but he throws himself fully into numbers like 'The Impossible Dream' (from 'Man of La Mancha'), Tony Joe White's hit 'Polk Salad Annie' and 'American Trilogy', the last of which would become a signature song of his late career. In 1997, RCA released the Saturday afternoon matinee as An Afternoon In The Garden.

Elvis As Recorded At Madision Square Garden : Elvis Presley CD

  1. Also Sprach Zarathustra [Theme from 2001: A Space Odyssey]
  2. That's All Right
  3. Proud Mary
  4. Never Been to Spain
  5. You Don't Have to Say You Love Me
  6. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
  7. Polk Salad Annie
  8. Love Me
  9. All Shook Up
  10. Heartbreak Hotel
  11. Medley: (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear/Don't Be Cruel
  12. Love Me Tender 14. Impossible Dream (The Quest)
  13. Introductions by Elvis
  14. Hound Dog
  15. Suspicious Minds
  16. For the Good Times
  17. American Trilogy
  18. Funny How Time Slips Away
  19. I Can't Stop Loving You
  20. Can't Help Falling in Love 23. End Theme

Personnel: Elvis Presley (vocals); James Burton, John Wilkinson (guitar); Charlie Hodge (guitar, vocals); Glen Hardin (piano); Jerry Scheff (bass); Ronnie Tutt (drums); J.D. Sumner & The Stamps, The Sweet Inspiriations, Kathy Westmoreland (background vocals).

Reissue producer: Chick Crumpacker.

Recorded live at Madison Square Garden, New York on June 10, 1972.

Digitally remastered by Dick Baxter (November, 1991, BMG Recording Studios, New York).

Elvis Presley CD's > Elvis Presley 1970's CD's

Browse Our Categories

View Cart