Elvis News From Elvis Australia: delivered by email Elvis News From Elvis Australia: delivered by email Elvis Presley News: delivered by email * Elvis Australia News Feed Daily SMS updates via Twitter SMS RSS News Feed

Category Current Category Categories Elvis CDs > Sony Music CDs

All Prices are Australian Dollars

The Memphis Record CD : 1969 : Year In Review

The Memphis Record CD : 1969 : Year In Review

No longer available

Bell This CD -- The Memphis Record must be the most creative cover of any Elvis compilation, and arguably album, period! -- It was originally released in 1987 and at the time was the foremost collection of Elvis' Memphis sessions available. Comprising tracks from both original albums it includes some notably different mixes which makes this release (in my opinion) all the more interesting.

All the tracks have been remastered and sound crystal clear and the few different mixes serve to highlight the backing vocal arrangements and instrumentation and offer some different and very interesting insights into the songs. The tracks are obviously in a different order because this is a compilation.

The well-designed booklet includes an extensive essay from Peter Guralnick (author of the definitive Elvis biographies 'Last Train To Memphis' and 'Careless Love') covering the sessions and the song choices.

To sum-up, this CD remains one of my favourite albums and is a worthy addition to any Elvis collection and a great companion piece to the original albums.

The Memphis Record : Booklet back cover. [Continuous with the front cover.]

1. Stranger In My Own Hometown
2. Power Of Love
3. Only The Strong Survive
4. Any Day Now
5. Suspicious Minds
6. Long Black Limousine
7. Wearin' That Loved On Look
8. I'll Hold You In My Heart (Till I Can Hold You In My Arms)
9. After Loving You
10. Rubberneckin'
11. I'm Movin' On
12. Gentle On My Mind
13. True Love Travels On A Gravel Road
14. It Keeps Right On Hurtin'
15. You'll Think Of Me
16. Mama Liked The Roses
17. Don't Cry Daddy
18. In The Ghetto
19. Fair Is Movin' On
20. Inherit The Wind
21. Kentucky Rain
22. Without Love (There Is Nothing)
23. Who Am I

The Memphis Record : Inside the booklet.

Also available - New Release ---- From Elvis In Memphis : 40th Anniversary Legacy Edition - 2 CD Set

Article Read about Elvis' American Recordings Session

The Memphis Record - Elvis Presley CD

Personnel: Elvis Presley (vocals, guitar, piano); Reggie Young (guitar); John Hughey (steel guitar); The Memphis Horns (horns); Bobby Wood (piano); Bobby Emmons (organ); Ed Hollis (harmonica); Mike Leech, Tom Cogbill (bass); Gene Chrisman (drums); Mary Greene, Donna Thatcher, Susan Pilkington, Sonja Montgomery, Mildred Kirkham, Dolores Edgin, Joe Babcock, Hurschel Wiginton (background vocals). Recorded at American Studios, Memphis, Tennessee in January & February 1969. Includes liner notes by Peter Guralnick, Colin Escott.

Elvis Presley > Elvis Shop > Elvis Presley CD's > Elvis Presley 1960's CD's

Up Top of page

Elvis Australia : Official Elvis Presley Fan Club